Skip to main content

Trans Tasman Test Series

The Trans Tasman Series has a rich history  which first began back in the early to mid 90s with Oztag Australia touring New Zealand under the Otahuhu/Porirua based tag module known as NZTAG, They continued to host the series up until 2006 when Australia Oztag decided to form a new alliance under our previous name New Zealand Kiwi Tag Football Inc.

In 2016 the Trans Tasman Series ended with a historic drawn 7 all test series. In particular our Open Mens team would become the first grade to dominate and win their division 4 wins to 1 draw in 5 test matches.

In 2018 it was a close series but Australia did not send all the grades due  to Australian Oztag saving their squads for the Tag World Cup in November later that year. Australia would go on to win the series but were pushed hard in most of the grades.

The series format from 2011 became a three yearly event and is competed for in a 5 test match series over 3 days format. It is the pinnacle for many New Zealand and Australian players as it pits the two dominant ITF nations against each other in 19 age group divisions from youth, open, senior and masters grades, It is the best of the best from both proud tag nations.

2006 Trans Tasman Series
March 3rd, 4th, 5th
Fowlds Mt Albert

2010 Trans Tasman Series
March 19th, 20th, 21st
North Harbour Stadium

2011 Trans Tasman Series
March 11, 12, 13 2011
Ti Rakau Park, Pakuranga

2013 Trans Tasman Series
September 27, 28, 29
Trust Arena Stadium, Henderson

2016 Trans Tasman Series
April 1st, 2nd, 3rd
Trust Stadium, Henderson

2018 Trans Tasmans
April 13th, 14th, 15th
Trust Stadium, Henderson

2020 Trans Tasmans
April 3rd, 4th, 5th (Postponed)
September  24th, 25th, 26th
Bruce Pulman Park

For more information:

Claude Iusitini